Book Reviews

The Athena Effect by Derrolyn Anderson

Caledonia has never been in public. Her life is kept secret from everyone except her parents. She doesn’t mind being alone with her parents in the middle of the woods. She finds enjoyment and adventures in her books. When something horrible happens, she’s torn away from her home, the only place she’s only known, and is taken to a town to live with her aunt. Cal (Calvin), a boy who only thinks of motorcycles and girls, gets in trouble with a gang while he is doing an errand for his brother. He is saved by a mysterious, fierce girl.

 

My rating: 3.5 stars

 

Caledonia was an okay main character. She got on my nerves a little bit at the end with something that happened. Cal was an okay character. The book was a little bit predictable, but I did really enjoy the author’s idea and plot. I think it was the plot that won me over. The idea of this was just so original and refreshing. Layla was probably my favorite character. I would tell you why she is my favorite character, but spoilers. Professor Reed (aka Professor Idiot is what I call him) annoyed me so much. BUT WAIT! He wasn’t my least favorite. That goes to Phil. I hate Phil so much. Again I would tell you why, but there are spoilers. Overall, it was a good book and I would recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

