Book Reviews

Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander

Charlie Hanson knows what he wants to do with his life. He is a senior at Brighton School of Mathematics and Science. All he wants is to go to MIT for college. But all that changes when he is waiting in line at Krispy Kremes, a donut shop, where he touches the back of the girl’s neck that was standing in line in front of him to see the rest of her tattoo. When she turns around and asks what’s wrong with him, he doesn’t get hit for once. Which is usually highly unusual looking at his other “experiments”. When she turns back around, he sees the word the that was hidden by a curl. Hope.

Rating: 5/5 stars
Cover rating: 4.5/5 stars

This book was really amazing. It almost made me cry. Charlie is really smart and logical, but sometimes too much so. Which made me laugh. I remember one time in the novel Charlie is trying to decide what to say to Charlotte. So he thinks of a few normal things he could says then he thinks, “should I repeat pi to her?”. Being a nerd/geek myself, I found this very cute. I related to his sister. She reads a lot, and so do I. Charlotte was awesome. James and Greta were cute together and they were cool.

Recommended for fans of: John Green’s books, If I Stay

Leave a Reply

