Book Reviews

Whiter Than Snow by Matthew Eldridge

***********I was sent an e-copy of the book from the author. All opinions are my own.************

Once upon a time, in Medieval era Brussels, a girl is living in a servant’s house. Margarete has never known her birth parents. Raised by a retired servant to the queen, she was hidden from the fact that she is the princess. One day, she is asked to serve the royals. Margarete she goes to the castle to work. While she is there, she meets Prince Phillip of Spain. Forbidden to fall in love with him, she is stuck and can’t do anything. Prince Phillip is engaged to the queen of England, Mary. If Spain and England come together, the evil queen will get her way and will kill tons of people.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars
Cover Rating: 3/5 stars

This book was just so good. It was a fictional take on the true story of Snow White. All the characters were written so well. Margarete was such a great character to follow. She was so kind. Prince Phillip was an okay character. He wasn’t my favorite, but I’m glad he was in the story. The plot was really cool. The book has a religious aspect in it and I really thought that was what brought the book together. It also made the time period feel more authentic. In some books, they leave out important aspects of what was going on in the time period. I’m so glad that I read this book because I love fairy tales and retellings. This isn’t really a fairy tale or retelling, but I really loved the fantasy aspect of it with the kingdoms, knights and royals. I was not disappointed in this book at all and it was so good. I hope you all pick up this book because I haven’t read anything like this.

Also, want to know some fun facts about Matthew Eldridge? He’s an actor double in a few book to movie adaptations. His most recent jobs have been being a double for Sam Claflin in Mockingjay: Part 1 and for Theo James in Divergent and Insurgent.

Leave a Reply

