Book Reviews

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

**********I recieved an e-copy of this book off of Netgalley and from Random House Children’s. All opinions are my own************

Princess Aurora may look like a normal human, but she actually fairy powers, that makes her have enhanced strength, mercy and bravery. But she is cursed to destroy the freedom of any man who kisses her. Disguised as a boy, she finds help in Prince Niklaas, who also has a secret curse. They go to recuse “Princess Aurora” and destroy the evil ogre queen, stole the throne from her 10 years ago.

Rating: 5/5 stars
Cover Rating: 3.5/5 stars

So I knew right away when I saw this on Netgalley that I wanted to request it. I had heard the synopsis and I was instantly drawn to it. This book is a fantasy, young adult novel that is a “retelling of Sleeping Beauty”. I honestly don’t think that’s correct. This was an original take on it and there was almost nothing about it that was like Sleeping Beauty.

The characters were all great. Aurora was so strong and amazing. She wasn’t afraid to do what was needing to be done. Niklaas took a little bit to like. In the beginning, he just sounds like a huge jerk, but after a while he gets better. There weren’t too many other characters that were in this book repeatedly. These two were the only ones who were there for the entire novel.

The plot was original. I really enjoyed the fantasy aspect of this book. Her powers in the book aren’t too important. The book has so many great parts to the plot. I’d tell you, but then you’d be spoilers. I would highly recommend this.

Leave a Reply

