Monthly Wrap Up

January and February 2015 Wrap Up

January

Books:

The In Between by Olivia Pierce – 2.5/5 stars

I truly did not enjoy this book. I found it boring and the characters were flat. The ending was confusing also. I have a review up if you want to see my full opinion.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 stars

This book was so good! I definitely understand the hype surrounding it. So many people have told me to pick up a Rainbow Rowell book and I’m so glad I did.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith – 4.5/5 stars

I thought this was a really interesting book. The premise of it sounds kind of cheesy, which I admit it was cheesy (but I was in the mood for it), but there was a lesson with family within the book.

Gone by Michael Grant – 3.5/5 stars

I buddy read this with Maria ( (bookloverwriter13 on youtube). We both thought about the same thing about the book. It was okay, but not great. So yeah. I really wish I had gotten this from the library, but I bought a few months ago before the buddy read happened. I’ve heard the series has some interesting aspects down the road, and by interesting, I mean I’ve heard some bad things. I’m not sure if I’ll continue.

The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel – 5/5 stars

I really liked this book. I thought the characters were great. The plot was very interesting.

Jessica Rules the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey – 4.5/5 stars

This was the conclusion to the Jessica (?) series. It made me really sad that it was over. I really want a book about what happens next with Jessica, Lucius, her friend (starts with an M I’m pretty sure but I can’t remember and Lucius’ cousin who’s name started with a R (Rainaro?).

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan – 5/5 stars

This book was too cute. I loved the idea of putting a notebook in The Strand and daring each other.

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines – 4.5/5 stars

This was the second New Adult book that I’ve read. The plot was interesting, although it sagged a tiny bit.

Ticker by Lisa Mantchev – 2/5 stars

How about we don’t talk about this? I think I have a review up. If not then, oops. I’m behind on posting reviews.

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall – 5/5 stars

Such a great spy book. I had been craving a spy book for a while, so this definitely quenched the need.

Library Books:

Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent – 5/5 stars

I picked this up out of pure, “I should get another book from the library today”. I can’t believe I enjoyed it this much. My co-blogger, Tia, (Four Little Bookworms) really loves this series. I trusted her opinion and I’m glad I did.

Audiobooks:

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – 4/5 stars

If I hadn’t listened to the audiobook, I would have loved this. Will be rereading soon. The audiobook I listened to was awful.

The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan – 5/5 stars

The finale to the Percy Jackson. I think this might be my favorite. This or the fourth. The person who narrated this was really good and hilarious.

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani 3.5/5 stars

I really liked this, then the end came and it was weird. Like really weird.

Novellas:

The Wedding of Antanasia Jessica Packwood and Lucius Valeriu Vladescu by Beth Fantaskey – 4/5 stars

This was pretty good. I wish it was longer though.

Zombicorns by John Green – 4/5 stars

Zombies? Check. John’s unique writing? Check. The normal heart break he leaves us with? Nope. I mean, it was there I guess, but it wasn’t that sad.

Glitches by Marissa Meyer – 5/5 stars

Yay! Inside to past of the Lunar chronicles.

The Little Android by Marissa Meyer – 4/5 stars

Umm I would spoil it if I said anything.

The Queen’s Army by Marissa Meyer – 4.5/5 stars

Yes. WOLF’S PAST. It was so sad.

Turned at Dark by C.C. Hunter – 5/5 stars

Della is one of my favorite characters in the Shadow Falls series. I think she now has her own series also, which I need to check out.

Love is a Choice by Beth Revis – 4/5 stars

So I realized that I really want the first book. Like, right now.

Comic Books/Graphic Novels:

Lumberjanes #1 by Noelle Stevenson – 4/5 stars

Short and interesting. I found the storyline intriguing.

February

Books:

High-Stakes Heist by Courtney Carbone – 4/5 stars

This was a picture book. Captain America is one of my favorites.

The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke – 4/5 stars

A let down. Honestly, the only thing that kept me reading was the lion-griffon like thing (long confusing name for it).

Egermeier’s Bible Story Book by Elsie Egermeier – unratable

I Was Here by Gayle Foreman – 3.5/5 stars

I was so bored while reading this. My favorite character was Ben. When he wasn’t there it was boring. I found the book not to be shocking at all.

21 Proms by Various Authors – 4/5 stars

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – 5/5 stars

I sat down for about an hour and half for 3 days and read this. I could have read it quicker if Netflix wasn’t and if my puppy hadn’t been annoying.

Resignation by Amanda Thome – 4.5/5 stars

I have a review up because I actually did it on time! (I’m getting better with that). Yay! I really liked this book.

Florence by Ciye Cho – 4/5 stars

Review coming. I’m currently writing it so it should be up soon.

Library Books:

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks – 4/5 stars

I read this with my Goodreads friend Hansrox. We are both doing this yearly challenge.

My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent – 4.5/5 stars

Really good. Not as good as the first.

My Soul to Keep by Rachel Vincent – 5/5 stars

On the same level as the first.

School Books:

Ordinary People by Judith Guest – 3/5 stars

I had to read this for school. Boring at parts and the ending was awful.

Novellas:

SOS: A Prequel to The Silence of Six by E.C. Meyers

I really enjoyed reading this. I wish there was just a full book in the point of view of Evan.

Comic Books/Graphic Novels:

Marceline Gone Adrift (#1) by Meredith Gran 4/5 stars

I expected more. Extremely short.

Leave a Reply

