Book Reviews

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

********I received this book through First Reads from Penguin. All thoughts are my own*******

Edition: E-Arc, PDF

Pages: 384 pages

Series or Standalone: Standalone

Published: May 26th, 2015

Publisher: Penguin Teen

Goodreads Synopsis: “I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose. ”

Characters: 2/5 Stars

Let’s start off with “Frances”. She’s the main character in this novel. She just……. was too two dimensional for me. I just felt like all the characters could have been more rounded.

Liam, another character and the Senator are all spoilers to talk about so I won’t.

Plot: 2.5/5 Stars

It was kind of bland. I thought we would learn more about the ship, but not really. This entire book focused on revenge with a kind of sloppy romance thrown in. (I feel really bad for saying that, but that’s how I feel). The romance wasn’t needed either way around and it kind of just got in the way a ton.

Also: apparently this is being sold as a “romantic thriller”.

It was very obvious to me who had done it, so the plot twist did not surprise me. Also, the clues were in awful spots. I mean, if you had done it, would you keep it right in the open??

Quotes: No.

Overall Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Overall, I feel bad for talking so poorly about this book, but this is my honest opinion. I hope to write a more positive review next time.

About the Author: Carrie Ryan is a New York Times bestselling author. She has written The Forest of Hands and Teeth trilogy, book two of Infinity Ring, Pirate Stream series, and co-wrote many short story anthologies. She lives in North Carolina with her husband, two cats and one dog.

Leave a Reply

