Indiana Author Month '15

Julia Karr – XVI

Thanks so much for having me on your blog for Indiana Authors’ month! Best, Julia

Q. What inspired you to write XVI?

One day an image popped into my head of a punk rock girl walking down the street of a big city. She had her earbuds in and was listening to music to drown out the city noises. A homeless man was on the sidewalk in her path. He was either asleep, passed out, or dead. She stepped over him, but instead of continuing on down the street, she turned and looked at him, feeling like she ought to help him–no one else would. That was the impetus for XVI.

Q. Which of your characters is your favorite and why?

In XVI my favorite character is Pops. I never knew my grandfather, but I’d imagine he would’ve been as crusty, no-nonsense, and as loving as Pops is. In Truth my favorite character is Martin. He was just so darn much fun to write!

Q. If you could cowrite a book with any author (dead or alive), who would it be?

A. Oh my… I think I would love to write a Philip Marlowe novel with Raymond Chandler!

Q. What’s your favorite kind of music?

A. I can’t say I have a favorite kind of music – I love most kinds, from Mozart to Ella Fitzgerald. But… I will never turn off early Beatles’ music – ever!

Q. If XVI became a movie, who would you choose play Nina?

A. Ariel Winter

Q. What was your favorite subject in school?

A. Reading in grade school. English/Lit in junior high & high school. History came in a close second.

Q. What’s currently your favorite tv show?

A. I don’t own a tv – but, I do watch Masterpiece Mystery online. I love Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes!

Q. If you could own any animal, (real or nonexistent, like unicorns) what animal would you own?

A. Ever since I was a kid I have wanted a horse. That would be my animal of choice.

Leave a Reply

