Book Reviews

Batgirl, Vol. 1: Burnside by Cameron Stewart, Babs Tarr, & Brenden Fletcher

********* I received a e-copy from NetGalley and the publisher, DC Comics for an honest review. All my thoughts are my own*******

Edition: e-Arc

Pages: 176

Series or Standalone:

Published: June 16th, 2015

Publisher: DC Comics

Goodreads Synopsis: “Barbara Gordon is no stranger to dusting herself off when disaster strikes, so when a fire destroys everything she owns, she spots the opportunity for a new lease on life – and seizes it! Following the rest of Gotham City’s young adults to the hip border district of Burnside, Barbara sets about building an all-new Batgirl…and discovers new threats preying on her peers! As the new hero of Burnside, Batgirl gets started by facing twin sister assassins on motorcycles!”

Characters: 2.5/5 Stars

Let’s talk for a second about something I have seen in about every graphic novel I’ve read lately. We need more body type diversity. I’ll do a post about it later….

So basically, I’ll tell you about it later. But as for the characters in the book, I felt as much as it was put forth for them to NOT to be self-absorbed, they all were. Barbara was our main character. We never learn much about her background. I wasn’t a huge fan of her, but she was okay.

Her friends were mostly cool. One of her friends we see in the beginning, but never really again, so I won’t talk about. Frankie was pretty cool. I loved how techy she was. I don’t really remember the other “friend’s” name, but I disliked her. My favorite character was probably her coworker. I kept waiting for her to show up more, but she never did.

Plot: 3/5 Stars

The plot was a little repetitive of everything in any superhero book. Hero fights bad guys. But I always love those plots so I keep reading them. I really loved how the plot progressed. The ending was interesting. I definitely didn’t see that coming.

Overall Rating: 3/5 Stars

Did I like the artwork?

I loved the artwork. I thought it was really awesome.

Quotes: none

Leave a Reply

