SBPT 2015

Summer Blogger Promo Tour: Ri from Hiver et Cafe

Hi everybody! I’m Ri from Hiver et Cafe! Thanks so much to Anna for having me on her blog! Today I’ll be doing the Chocolate Book Tag!!

Dark Chocolate (A book covering a dark topic)
The book I’ve chosen for this one is Unwind by Neal Shusterman. Omygosh the premise of that book is dark, especially that one chapter in the book that was really quite freaky. If you haven’t read UNWIND, it’s about a dystopian world where children, when they reach a certain age, can be legally “unwound” for body parts. It’s really creepy, but it’s a fantastic book though and I definitely need to read the rest in the dystology.

White Chocolate (A Light and Fun Read)
I totally blanked at this one and when I went to take a look at my bookshelf (both irl and on goodreads) I found that I have a taste for things that are darker and not at all light and fluffy reads. The one I’m choosing for this is MY LIFE NEXT DOOR by Huntley Fitzpatrick. It’s a fun contemporary read that’s fluffy with a couple touches of emotional heaviness. Next time I’m in the mood for some contemporary fluff, I’m definitely going to re read this book.

Milk Chocolate (A book that has lots of hype that you’re dying to read)
The Wrath and the Dawn for sure. Its sitting in one of the piles of books on my floor and I’m definitely going to read it at some point. I’m planning on bringing it with me on vacation and I certainly hope it lives up to the hype that I’ve been seeing on my twitter feed.

Caramel filled chocolate (A book that makes you feel all gooey on the inside)
Is it weird if I say the Angelfall series? It isn’t really the books themselves that make me gooey on the inside. It’s Raffe. He makes me swoon soooooo hard. Reading his scenes with Penryn definitely have me feeling gooey and swooning. Besides Raffe though, this book is post apocalyptic and dark, but with spots of humour since Penryn and Raffe are definitely hilarious sometimes.

Wafer-less Kit Kat (A book that surprised you)
I’m choosing The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han. When I picked up the first one, I thought it was just going to be a light fun summer read, which was what I had been craving at the time. I was surprised when I found a lot more depth to it than I anticipated. I was addicted and I was really glad that my school library had the rest of the trilogy for me to just read consecutively.

Snickers (A book you’re going nuts about)
I’m not really reading anything right now, despite what my currently reading shelf says on goodreads. It’s more of an intention to read sort of thing, where I’ve opened up to the first page and stuck my bookmark in it. However, a book that I’m absolutely nuts for and super anticipating the next book is the RED RISING series by Pierce Brown. I love those books to bits. They devastate me in the best way and I definitely recommend them to people I come across.

Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows (A book you turn to for comfort)
I don’t really have books that I turn to for comfort, but if I did, it would probably have to be The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. It’s one of the first books that I really remember adoring and becoming obsessed with. It’s also a really fun Middle Grade novel that is more about quests and fighting monsters than deep, emotional epiphanies, which is more my cup of tea for comfort.

A Box of Chocolates (A Series you feel like has something for everyone)
I would probably have to go with either the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series or the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor. The Percy Jackson for the obvious reasons and the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series because despite the romance, it’s so much more and is a truly epic fantasy series.

Thank you so much to Anna for having me on her blog! I had a lot of fun doing this tag and I only wish I had some chocolate with me right now!

Leave a Reply

