Favorites

2015 Top 5 Favorites

Hi! We read so many great books in 2015, but we somehow able to narrow it down.

Anna’s Favorites

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, Winter by Marissa Meyer, A Work In Progress by Connor Franta, Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy, The Sin-Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury, Velvet by Temple West, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent, Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman, Scott Pilgrim Gets It Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley

 

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen

This book was right up my alley. A main character with an uncommon job (i.e. assassin or thief)? Check. Love interests that are actually good choices? Check. YA fantasy? Check. I’m so glad I picked this book up. I loved this book. I read the entire series this year and loved them all.

 

Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess was just so beautiful. I finished this within two periods at school (which was about 3 hours at my old school). I could not put it down. It was just so enthralling. The characters were well rounded and the plot was capturing.

 

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK GUYS. This book was sooo good! I almost made this my favorite of the year. A book has not surprised me with a plot twist in AGES, but this book did it. I WAS FREAKING OUT. I almost threw the book. It was THAT surprising! Thank you Amie and Jay ❤

 

Runner up: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything was such a touching book. The main character, Maddie, was still relatable even though she was going through a circumstance that I’m sure most of us (if not all) have not gone through. The progression of the novel was just at the right pace. Nicola’s writing style was so gorgeous.

Side note: I know a JLA book isn’t on my list. That’s probably a huge surprise to a bunch of people. Believe me, I surprised myself also. I ended up only reading two of her novels this year, which were both rereads. I didn’t feel like I could put a reread on this list.

Natalie’s Favorites

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Words to describe this book are hard to piece together because it was just.  That.  Brilliant.  The characters were so real and the way Nelson wrote was beautiful.  It’s just, it’s one of those books where you’re bursting with emotion for it that it’s so hard to write why you love it so much.  You just do.  I highly suggest you read this, I’ll give you that.  (See what I did there?)

 

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

I had borrowed this book from the library twice, read like 10 pages, and returned it both times.  It was slow in the beginning and I was….I don’t know what I was thinking.  But then I was at the library, saw it, and thought hey, maybe third time’s a charm?  AND IT WAS.  I WAS RIGHT.  I WAS SO RIGHT.  This is definitely one of the best fantasies I have read.  Ever.  The world was built so well, the main character is a boy with red hair like me, and the characters were so distinct and unique.  I had heard people rave about having a Marchetta fever and dear lord they’re right, that woman is genius.  I praise the floor she walks on and the keys she types on.  There are also a ton of characters to ship in that series and no love triangles.  Win-win all around.

 

Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout

So obviously JLA needed to make the list somewhere.  And Deity was…wow.  I can’t tell you how many times I have reread THAT book.  It’s the third in the Covenant series, also known as the book where stuff gets real.  And where JLA does her famous cliffhanger that brings you to tears and rage.  I’m a huge huge huge Lux fan (Daemon Black is mine.  Many people will tell you otherwise, but this is just the way the cookie crumbles), but the Covenant series is actually possibly maybe better than Lux (Whaaat.  Did.  I.  Just.  Say?  Blasphemy).  The main character, Alex, annoyed me at first, but her reckless little self grew on me and I totally root for that chica.  As for Aiden, well, there are few words that would adequately describe his perfect self.  But because of him, I’ve made it my life’s goal to marry a man with the last name of St. Delphi.  

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry, Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson, The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows, Ignite by Sara B. Larson, Candidate by Rachel E. Carter, Charcoal Tears by Jane Washington, The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace, Little Peach by Peggy Kern, Solitaire by Alice Oseman, and Death Sworn by Leah Cypress

 

And our top book of 2015 is…….

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

We both thought this was our #1 pick of 2015!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Funny thing….. We actually buddy read this in May! We both ended up loving the story so much and we cannot wait for the next book. Khalid for president. (Natalie wrote the last sentence. Anna doesn’t agree)

 

What are some of your favorite books of 2015? Let us know!

 

Happy Reading!

Anna & Natalie

Leave a Reply

