anna · Book Reviews

New World: Ashes by Jennifer Wilson

**** I was sent an earc to review from the author/publish. All of my thoughts are my honest opinion.******

NEW WOLRD ASHES smEdition: e-ARC

Pages: 307

Series or Standalone: Series, New World #2

Published: June 7th, 2016

Publisher: Of Tomes

Goodreads Synopsis: “After Phoenix, a 17-year-old orphan rogue, sacrifices herself for her loved ones, her world again takes an unexpected turn. She may have forgotten her past, but it hasn’t forgotten her. A war is coming and her role in it will be pivotal.

That is… if she survives.

“The much-anticipated sequel to New World: Rising.”

Plot: 4/5 Hot Aliens

It takes off almost right where the first book ends, which is…… intense. The plot then progressed onward and grrrrrr I want to tell you all everything but you guys know me, and I find everything to be a spoiler. I just don’t want to say something that will spoil it for someone. Just know that the plot takes off in this book and it keeps you enthralled.

There were a few things I wasn’t a fan of. I felt like the beginning was rushed. It might have just been me though. I guessed most of the surprises, but that didn’t bother me too much since I was able to guess a ton of plot points in book one. I really just need to stop thinking I’ll be surprised by books since I rarely am ever.

 

Characters 4/5 Hot Aliens

I loved the characters as much as I did in the first book, if not more.

Phoenix developed even more. Grr I want to talk about how well written she was in this book, but I guess I can’t since you know, that’s 100% spoilers.

Triven. Oh Triven. I really like him, but at the same time he annoys me. I’m actually not even sure why since I like his character.

Mouse is such a cute, little tough button. She’s so strong. She’s also maybe my favorite character.

Notes: These may make zero sense to you, but read the book and I’m sure you’ll figure out where I said these.

Dun dun dun – 5%

Why isn’t this word used more? – 31% vendetta. I feel like it would be useful in so many books.

Current issues in the world today? – 41%

Ham ham ham ham ham ham ham – 51% She wrote “right hand man”, I fangirled.

Then I wrote “called it” a few times which I will not be revealing the percentages I was at. Plus, they were scattered so I hope that helps you in trying to find out 🙂

So at the end, it had the title of the next book and I was like: yessssss

approval-animated-gif

Overall: I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait for the next novel!

4/5 Hot Aliens

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

