SBPT 2016 · Uncategorized

SBPT 2016: Dejah from Legand of Lost Books

img_20160702_112609

 

How To Disappear

by Ann Redisch Stampler

Publication: Simon Pulse – June 24, 2016

Pages: 416

Rating: 3 STARS

Summary:

This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed—or committed?—and the boy who’s sent to kill her.

Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she’s pretty sure she can get away with anything…until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette’s house. Which is why she has to disappear.

Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. But straight A’s and athletic trophies can’t make people forget that his father was a hit man and his brother is doing time for armed assault. Just when Jack is about to graduate from his Las Vegas high school and head east for college, his brother pulls him into the family business with inescapable instructions: find this ruthless Nicolette Holland and get rid of her. Or else Jack and everyone he loves will pay the price.

As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions—and attractions—run high. Told in alternating voices, this tightly plotted mystery and tense love story challenges our assumptions about right and wrong, guilt and innocence, truth and lies.

Goodreads // Amazon // Barnes & Noble

 

When I started writing this review, I had no idea where to start. Then I decided I should just start at the beginning. So here we go.

I didn’t like it. There I said it. For me, the most important part about a book other than the plot is how they start. The first thing I noticed is that the POV switches literally ever chapter between Nicolette (Cat) and Jack. That stinks because the beginning is where you want to get to know the characters and how can you do that when you are constantly flipping back and forth? It made me feel disconnected and I didn’t like that at all.

The second thing was the setting. Going in we know nothing. The story starts immediately and all the reader knows is that Nicolette is running from something and her real name isn’t Catherine. That would be awesome except for the fact that Jacks more calm and random POV kept interfering. It was quite frustrating.

So now I move on to the plot. Once I got used to the back and forth writing style, I realized that the plot was actually very enjoyable! I loved the twists and turns and nothing about this book was predictable. The pace was just right and I enjoyed everything from the middle to the end.

The 2 main characters were cool. You had Nicolette who is on the run. I’m not going to say why because that would ruin the book. Most of her skills about hiding come from re run episodes of Law and Order so I thought that was pretty funny. Then we have Jack who I liked a lot more than Nicolette. He was sent by his brother who is in jail to kill this girl and if he doesn’t, then bad things will happen to his mom, He is a straight A student on his way to college. He has never hurt anyone so it was cool to see how he built the courage to kill this girl that he starts to fall for. I wasn’t a fan of the romance in this book. It seemed forced and didn’t flow naturally. I can’t really describe it.

The ending was awesome! Plot twists everywhere! At times it was hard to keep up because there was so much going on. I pretty much hated Nicolette by the time the story ended. Overall even though I wouldn’t consider this book one of favorites. I would definitely recommend it. It’s a wild ride.
My BIO:
Dejah is a 19 year old part time college student studying biology. She loves all things Disney and Marvel super heroes. Here favorite book genres are mystery/thriller and retellings of the Peter Pan and Alice in Wonderland variety. If she isn’t reading, you can find her dancing and listening to music. Feel free to check her out at https://legendoflostbooks.wordpress.com/ and follow her on twitter at https://twitter.com/LegendOfBooks .

 

Thanks Dejah for this awesome review!

 

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

3 thoughts on “SBPT 2016: Dejah from Legand of Lost Books

  1. Hm.. I’ve never heard of this book. But it sounds interesting? I don’t know. Not a huge fan of these stories.
    But Nicolette seems cool. Law and Order re-runs, am I right? Haha.
    Great review!

    Like

  2. I haven’t heard of this book either, but I don’t think I’ll pick it up… While the premise sounds cool and full of action, the things you are concerned about are the same things I’d be mad about, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

