SBPT 2016

SBPT 2016: Dana from DanaSquare

Hi everyone! Today Dana is on the blog to talk about writing. I’m so excited for you guys to read about her writing journey.

Hi Anna and Unquenchable Readers, I’m Dana from DanaSquare. Like Anna, I love to write. I always have a story that I am working on. My hope is to one day be a published author, but I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

DANA’S WRITING JOURNEY

The Twilight Inspiration

I started writing, creatively, when I was in the 7th grade. This was the year of Twilight, 2008, so I was clearly obsessed with that story as well as Stephenie Meyer’s unintentional author story. I wrote a lot of really bad fanfiction in my English journal for homework that my friends would read at lunch. I turned that story into a non-Twilight story, it was called The Ties that Can’t Break. It was around 20k words and was about vampire siblings who end up in the same town with lots of shenanigans occurring, oh yeah that sounds a lot like The Vampire Diaries, yeah I wasn’t all that creative. I still think about that story sometimes because I loved it. 
 

Finding NaNoWriMo

I stopped writing for a long time, mainly because I started reading a lot more. YA became a thing and I found my people. I started High School and my blog. I still thought about characters. Even before I ever put pen to paper, I always had characters and stories floating around in my head. I found NaNoWriMo in 2013 through youtube and I needed to try it. I have tried every year since and I still fail. That first story was called The Reds, then renamed to If I Should Die, and it was a dystopian retelling of little red riding hood. That story was really great, but I never surpassed 15k on it. The next year, I attempted to rewrite it with no success. 
 
Then I tried CampNaNoWriMo and started a horror novel based on the hide and seek game Manhunt, which was also the title. I basically just wanted to write like a 90s slasher movie, where I kill every character and have a final girl. I didn’t finish this one either.
 
Then in 2014, I started In His Darkness which was a NA Persephone retelling. It was basically me starting college wanting to write about that as well as this reincarnation of Hades/Persephone story that I wanted to tell. I eventually finished it during July CampNaNoWriMo in 2015. That was a crazy experience, but I also found it really hard to write after that. That first draft is really bad and I don’t know if I ever want to look at it again. 


My Current WIP

I started my current work in progress during 2015 NaNoWriMo. It is a fantasy following two female leads that is my favorite thing I have ever so far. I am completely obsessed with the story, the characters, the world, and logistics of it. You can learn a bit more about the story HERE because I “reviewed” my own story based on an assignment from a writing class I was taking. I am still working on this story. I just hit 25k on it this week. It has been a long journey with this story, even longer than the last one. But I feel so in love with this story. It isn’t perfect right now, but I feel like it has so much potential. 
 
I definitely am making progress in my writing journey. I start a lot of stories and never finish them, but I am really happy with the way my writing has developed. I hope that my writing journey so far can help someone else not feel so discouraged about not being about to finish a novel.
 
Thanks Dana for coming on the blog today! I wish you luck with your writing! 
Xx Sincerely,
Anna
One thought on “SBPT 2016: Dana from DanaSquare

  1. This is really awesome! NaNo definitely gets people writing. I’m currently thinking about my own next WIP. (I dropped my Camp NaNo sooo fast. I lost love with it. OH WELL. I might revive the characters. I do that a lot.) Writing is an amazing experience. You get to experience a whole new world without leaving your seat. I love it.
    But best of luck with your future endeavors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

