SBPT 2016

SBPT 2016: Jess from Princessica of Books

Bookstagram Problems I Faced

  • Developing a theme.

This is one of the first problems any bookstagrammer newbie faces. Getting the right lighting, props, and even using the right filter all contribute to one’s theme. A theme is important because the bookstagrammer wants people to recognize their photos without a watermark; something that distinctly says “this is @___!” I’ve changed my theme several times and this is totally fine in my opinion!

  • Finding time.

Between work, track, and managing both my blog and other social media, I hardly have time to take pictures. However, when I do, I like to take a lot so I can not take pictures for the rest of the week. Not all photos have to be amazing and intricate with a lot of props. Find what works best for you.

  • Bookstagram envy.

Now, I don’t mean “Wow, I wish my feed looked like that!” My envy mostly stems from rep searches. After entering numerous times and never getting picked. Yet, there are others who are reps for TONS of companies. At first it doesn’t seem fair, but I had to remember that it’s not my company and in the end, I want what’s best for their company, even if that means I won’t be a rep.

  • Not having motivation.

Like blogging and reading slumps, I sometimes fall into bookstagram slumps. It’s hard to get out of these because it’s not like you can just reread a favorite. Usually, it’s an uplifting comment that gets me out of it. In addition, sometimes I just take a break and tell my followers. It’s okay to do that, too.

Those are just three problems I faced, but I’ve come across a few obstacles here and there such as not finding the time to comment or wondering what hashtags work the best. These are just my tips for common problems I face all the time.

About the Blogger:

http-%2F%2Fprincessicaofbooks.wordpress.com

Jess is your local blogger, bibliophile, feminist, and a future cat-lady. She enjoys supporting her local library and absolutely adores indie bookstores. When she is not reading or doing any other bookish sorts, she is probably listening to Troye Sivan, tweeting (@PrincessicaOB), or doing schoolwork [yes, although she hates it, she is quite responsible]. Feel free to chat with her onTwitter, Goodreads, Instagram or email her at princessiccaaaa[at]gmail[dot]com. Yes, two c’s and four a’s.

 

Thanks for coming on the blog today and discussing Bookstagram, Jess! I can relate to the envy and theme issue. I can never choose just one way to stick with.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

 

Leave a Reply

