anna · Recommend Thursday

Recommend Thursday: Blackbird by Anna Carey

I haven’t posted a Recommend Thursday in forever so I figured it was time for another one.

Blackbird was released in 2014 and is a duology.

Goodreads Synopsis: “From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she isβ€”and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.

Things I Know Are True:

I am in Los Angeles
I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
I am a teenage girl
I have long black hair
I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198
People are trying to kill me”

Blackbird by Anna Carey is a very unique book. The book is written in the second point of view. I personally have not found too many young adult books with second point of view, so that made this book stick out to me.

For fans of The Hunger Games and Nearly Gone: Slight suspense
This novel has a themeΒ to it that I think fans of The Hunger Games will enjoy. The slight suspense reminds me of how Collins wrote parts of her book.

For fans of Mara Dyer: Unreliable
The unreliableness of the book kept me on my toes. It made me want to know what the heck was going on.

Why I liked this novel: The book had a plot that has definitely been done before in some way, shape or form, but it seemed to have a unique spin to it. It also was able to almost surprise me so that made me really happy! It was interesting and kept me hooked.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

