anna · writing

Writing: My WIPs #1

I have started  writing way too many novels. I’m currently focusing on two full-length novels and a short story. *WIP stands for Work in Progress

One of the full length novels is one that I keep pushing aside, thinking that I’ll come back to it. It’s a sci-fi dystopian. I have a little over 4k written in this one. I really want to push forward with this, but it needs a ton of work.

I am also currently writing a fantasy novel. This one I’m really worried about. I want it to be original, but the location I’m basing it off of has had a lot books come out lately that have the same location as a base. I’m really tempted to almost scrap this and just the location entirely. Another issue is what I ended up putting early on in what I have written that is probably overused by now. I have a ton of work to do on this one before I can even think of continuing to write it. I have a little over 1k words written.

My short story is a contemporary. I kind of want to write a collection of short stories, so this is my starting place. To be honest, this contemporary short story is my favorite thing to write in. I’ve been doing a little research for it and I’m really excited to see if I can finish it within the next few months. I currently have about 780 words written in it and I would love to end up with around 7,500 words (that’s a rough estimate). The plot to this one is something I believe I will be able to wrap up nicely and I have an idea for the ending. I need to do more research for this though. I don’t remember anything about ballet since I stopped when I was 6 years old, so I need to research that more.

Those are my currently worked on WIPs. Are you guys currently working on writing something?

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

