anna · Book Reviews

Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

******I received the arc from the Penguin B-Fest First in Line thing. All thoughts are my own*******

25081261-_uy2550_ss2550_

 

Edition: ARC

Pages: 304

Series or Standalone: Series, Poison’s Kiss

Published: January 10th, 2017

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Goodreads Synopsis: “Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die afterward. It’s a miserable life, but being a visha kanya—a poison maiden—is what she was created to do. Marinda serves the Raja by dispatching his enemies with only her lips as a weapon.

Until now, the men she was ordered to kiss have been strangers, enemies of the kingdom. Then she receives orders to kiss Deven, a boy she knows too well to be convinced he needs to die. She begins to question who she’s really working for. And that is a thread that, once pulled, will unravel more than she can afford to lose.

This rich, surprising, and accessible debut is based in Indian folklore and delivers a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

AmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository

My Rating: 4/5 Hot Aliens

The beginning was extremely hard to get into. Okay, it may have taken me half the book or a little more for me to actually get 100% interested.

Note: this book doesn’t have a love triangle 🙂 That was one of the main things I enjoyed about this book. While I don’t mind love triangles, it is nice to read a book that is different with the romance than most books.

Marinda definitely was not my favorite character, but she was a likable character for the most part. I understand why she made the decisions that she did, but at some points, I just wanted to shake her and say, “ughh but it was obvious” (more on that later on). I also was not a fan of Iyla. Her character kind of fell flat to me. I feel like she just kept being mentioned or showing up without it ever going into depth of who her character truly was. Deven and Mani were my favorite characters. Deven was such a different character. I feel like his character near the end of the novel was more unique than what usually happens. Mani  was just a little cutie.

The plot was… well… a tiny bit predictable. I realized one of the most important plot points in the book by the third page into chapter four. I realized later on another key point and thought “wow. how is Marinda not suspecting something?”. Of course, there were a few spots that I didn’t realize what was happening before I got to them. Like when someone shows up again in a certain chapter and you are like, “yess a character we need more of”. I did enjoy the premise of the book. While a girl being poisonous isn’t a new idea, as the novel progresses, the idea becomes more unique and sticks out from the other novels. I will say though that it does slightly remind me of The Sin-Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury in certain ways (I knew it reminded me of something but I couldn’t remember what so then I got on Goodreads and saw that Emily from Falling for YA had marked it as to-read with a note basically saying it sounded like that book).

Overall, the book was pretty good. I enjoyed the last maybe 150 pages a lot more than the beginning because I feel like things started to finally get in motion. I couldn’t put the book down once I got past halfway. I was glued to the book to find out what was going to happen to the characters. The ending made me really need the second book, but I’ll have to wait till 2018 for that.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

