anna · Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Life After Juliet by Shannon Lee Alexander

******I received an e-arc of the book from the author. All thoughts are my own*******

*** Spoilers for Love and Other Unknown Variables. I suggest you go read that book quickly then come back to this review because it is a phenomenal book.***

 

26114303

Edition: e-ARC

Pages: 304

Series or Standalone: Standalone/Companion Novel

Published: July 5th, 2016

Publisher: Entangled Teen

 

Goodreads Synopsis: “Becca Hanson was never able to make sense of the real world. When her best friend Charlotte died, she gave up on it altogether. Fortunately, Becca can count on her books to escape—to other times, other places, other people…

Until she meets Max Herrera. He’s experienced loss, too, and his gorgeous, dark eyes see Becca the way no one else in school can.

As it turns out, kissing is a lot better in real life than on a page. But love and life are a lot more complicated in the real world…and happy endings aren’t always guaranteed.

5/5 Hot Aliens

Okay, so let’s start with the obvious. This review is super late. You want to know why? Because this book caused me to look back on hard events that took place in my life and I was not emotionally ready for that or for this review yet. I had pushed the event out of my mind as soon as it happened many years ago and never let myself process the pain and sorrow. I feel like I am able to talk about it now, at least, mostly talk about it. I’ll be very vague probably about the event that took place in my life.

This book starts after Charlotte dies, continuing to follow the character from Love and Other Unknown Variables. Only this time, we follow Becca, Charlie’s younger sister who had become friends with Charlotte. Becca Hanson is an avid reader, like ourselves. She has counted away from Charlotte’s death by pages, 108,023 pages to be exact from where the book starts. Becca is sort of escaping the world through reading which reminds me of how I was a few years back (not the event that made this such a hard book and review for me, but it was still one of the worst events of my entire life). Anyways, she is trying not the face the death of her friend. Charlie has gone off to college which leaves her  with her parents alone.

I really liked the plot. The play fit in perfectly with the rest of the plot and helped the book move along smoothly. Plus, being a theatre geek, it made me smile to see a book mention a play then actually go ahead and not forget about it.

The rest of the cast were amazing. I enjoyed how each character was well rounded. The plot was also phenomenal.

 

I just wanted to say I cried A LOT during this.

gfmhf

giphy1

 

*Tiny spoiler and emotions*

**Tiny spoiler and emotions*

***Tiny spoiler and emotions***

****Tiny spoiler and emotions****

Don’t say I didn’t warn you

So…. At one point in the novel, they are by a railroad. If I remember correctly, she is with a friend (I forget which character exactly) and they are discussing how one of their friends or siblings walked in front of a moving train. I had a friend die in a car crash with a train. I kind of pushed it away when it happened and refused to think about it. This book kind of forced me to think about it which actually was a good thing. I’m slightly getting better at being okay with showing emotion now.

As for Becca’s loss of her best friend, I relate to that because the girl who died had been my best friend throughout my childhood and died after I hadn’t been able to see her for a year because she went to another country for a year. I don’t want to go into anymore details. Just know this was extremely hard for me to read and write because of the emotions and memories I have.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

