anna · Book Reviews

Fallen Flame by J.M. Miller

*******I received an e-arc from Netgalley. These are my 100% honest opinions.******

fallenflame-final-high

Edition: eBook (yet again, I didn’t download it before the cut off date so I purchased my own copy)

Pages: 281

Series or Standalone: Series, 1st (Fallen Flame)

Published: June 19th, 2017

Publisher: Self published? (I think)

Goodreads Synopsis: “Nineteen years ago, on the island kingdom of Garlin, a girl was born. With charred skin as rough as rock, Vala was instantly feared. For how could one be scorched by magic when it had perished ages before?
Recognizing an asset, the royal family welcomed her on their Guard. Her detail: the prince.
To watch. To protect. She has grown with him, lives her life for him.
When the high kingdom’s princess comes to assess the prince, assassins of rival courtiers come to claim his life. One nearly succeeds in his mission. But with shadowy movements and charred skin like her own, Vala knows he is not like the rest.
As threats to the prince continue and questions about Vala’s life begin to rise, she faces a fear worse than fire or water, worse even than losing him.
She fears finding out who she truly is.”

My Rating: 5/5 Hot Aliens

I just finished this novel and I think J.M. Miller murdered my heart with this novel.

giphy

I loved the plot of the novel. It had so many twists and turns. You guys know I typically can see what is going to happen in a novel, but honestly, I only guessed maybe half or less of this novel. It’s written that well. This book is kind of an emotional rollercoaster. I felt so many emotions towards the events and characters. I loved them, I disliked them, I was annoyed with their actions, and I shipped them. I loved how the novel ends. It sets it up for the second novel perfectly. I cannot wait till the next novel comes out!

As I mentioned, I really liked the character development. Vala had great character growth throughout their novel. I loved the other characters and loved watching them develop in character as well. The characters didn’t just have one specific personality treat to them. I love when authors do this because it makes them realistic. The amount of secrets we find out during the novel and questions that are unanswered because they are for the next novel are endless. It was interesting seeing how far trust went in the novel. The realistic portrayal of trust was amazing.

Basically, I fell in love with this novel. I plan on checking out J.M.’s other writings while I impatiently wait for the next novel to try to fill the void of not knowing what happens next.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Leave a Reply

