Mini Review · Uncategorized

Mini Review: By A Charm & A Curse by Jaime Questell

34921588Edition: e-ARC

Pages: 300

Series or Standalone: Standalone

Published: February 6th, 2018

Publisher: Entangled Teens

Goodreads Synopsis: “Le Grand’s Carnival Fantastic isn’t like other traveling circuses. It’s bound by a charm, held together by a centuries-old curse, that protects its members from ever growing older or getting hurt. Emmaline King is drawn to the circus like a moth to a flame…and unwittingly recruited into its folds by a mysterious teen boy whose kiss is as cold as ice.

Forced to travel through Texas as the new Girl in the Box, Emmaline is completely trapped. Breaking the curse seems like her only chance at freedom, but with no curse, there’s no charm, either—dooming everyone who calls the Carnival Fantastic home. Including the boy she’s afraid she’s falling for. 

Everything—including his life—could end with just one kiss.

The carnival setting has definitely turned me onto reading more books set in the circus. The novel itself was addicting and the synopsis was intriguing, but it fell short in its execution.

bored-gif-12

The characters weren’t my favorite. I weirdly enjoyed the plot more than the actual characters which I don’t think has ever happened before. I found a lot of the characters to be annoying and selfish. There was only one character who wasn’t selfish, and I think he was my favorite. This novel would have been so much better if everything hadn’t been rushed so much. I wish the author would have put more details into the novel to make the characters and plot round. If it had maybe fifty more pages it would have been bumped up to a four star rating. Overall, the novel was kind of meh to me, but I look forward to looking into more novels set in carnivals.

Would I read another novel by this author? Honestly, maybe. The author’s writing was really addicting and I would consider reading another novel by them just for that reason.

3.5/5 Hot Aliens

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Advertisements
Uncategorized

Am I going to continue blogging?

Am I going to continue blogging? Yes. For the past year, I’ve been focusing on my mental health and that has left me with no time for blogging, but as I am currently figuring it all out, I’m going to try again. Think of this as a restart to the blog, I guess. I can’t promise I’ll post multiple times a week like I used to, but I will promise you that there will at least be one blog post per week. Thanks for sticking around and having patience with me.

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Author Of The Month · Uncategorized

S. Usher Evans Read-Along

Hey Everyone! S. Usher Evans is February’s Author of the Month and I’ve decided to put together a read along so we can all enjoy her novels! The schedule will be below in a photo you can save of it. If you want to join, tweet me (@readbyanna) or comment with your twitter handle and I’ll add you to a group DM. For the read-along, I decided on Madion War trilogy which will lead up to the release of Resurgence. On Resurgence‘s release day, we will start reading that book.

Adobe Spark (3)

Adobe Spark (4).jpg

Adobe Spark (6).jpg

Adobe Spark (2)

I hope you all join in reading this book!

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Uncategorized

Series I Have to Finish in 2018

In 2017, I finished reading maybe one or two series which is kind of sad when you think about how many opportunities I had to read them. Anyways, I definitely want to find out what the endings are to these stories. Let me know if any of these are your favorites and should be moved up the list!

They are organized by: series title (number of books in series, number unread, whether or not I need to reread the others to remember everything)

The Mortal Instruments (7, 1 unread, reread)

Monsters of Verity (2, 1 unread, reread)

Six of Crows (2, 1 unread, reread)

Reign of Shadows (2, 1 unread, reread)

Gemma Doyle (3, 2 unread, reread)

Snow Like Ashes (3, 2 unread, reread)

Blood of gods and Monsters (4, 3 unread, reread)

The Dark Elements (3, 2 unread, reread)

The Wrath and The Dawn (2, 1 unread, reread)

Dorothy Must Die (4, 2 unread, reread)

Wicked (3, 2 unread, reread)

Covenant (5, 3 unread, reread)

The Remnant Chronicles (3, 2 unread, reread)

Splintered (3, 2 unread, reread)

The Archived (2, 1 unread, reread)

Anna & The French Kiss (3, 1 unread)

The Lone City (3, 2 unread, reread)

Sweet (4, 3 unread, reread)

Shadow Falls (5, 3 unread, reread)

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Tags/Awards · Uncategorized

All I Want For Christmas Book Tag

Hey guys! Posts are later and shorter but I’m working on it so just give me a few days to deal with some life stuff. Anyways, this tag was super fun! Taken from Stephanie’s Book Reviews

 

1) What fictional character do you want Santa to leave under your Christmas tree?

Daemon Black would be fine by me.

2) What character do you want to kiss under the mistletoe?

Daemon Black. He’s still my #1 book boyfriend.

3) You write your Christmas list for Santa, what are the top 5 books on it?

1. Becoming Bonnie by Jenni L. Walsh
2. The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout
3. A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet
4. A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab
5. Turtles All The Way Down by John Green

4) It’s secret santa at Hogwarts, what do you most want to receive?

Ummm we are going to skip this question……. (yes, I have not completed Harry Potter yet enough to understand this question and idk if I ever plan on finishing)

5) You get to the spend the day with the characters and movie adaptation actors from one fandom, what do you pick?

Lame answer but probably a Marvel movie because technically an adaptation.

6) What fictional animal would you like to replace Rudolph and be able to meet on your roof?

I can’t think of any fictional animal from a novel that I’ve read that I would want to meet so I guess just a unicorn?

7) You invite 10 fictional characters to your new years eve party, who do you pick?

1. Daemon Black from Lux
2. Phryne Fisher from Phryne Fisher’s Murder Mysteries
3. Jesper from Six of Crows
4. Nina from Six of Crows
5. Molly from The Upside of Unrequited
6. Cath from Fangirl
7. Levi from Fangirl (both needed for emergency dance parties)
8. Katy Swartz from Lux
9. Jacque Pierce from Prince of Wolves
10. Fane from Prince of Wolves

8) What character would make a good santa (Doesn’t have to be appearance, personality counts too)?

For some reason, Wylan from Six of Crows came to mind. Idk why.

I’m tagging:

Alyssa

Dylan

and everyone else who wants to do this!

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Uncategorized

Book Blogmas 2017

Hey guys! This month I’ll be posting every day in December. I’m excited to try to catch up on posts that I’ve been meaning to write.

Here’s what you can expect:

  • Book reviews that I’ve been needing to write
  • Audiobook Recs
  • Twelve Days of Bloggers (It will be starting on the 12th of December and will continue through the 24th)
  • Surprises/Other Random Posts

I am ready to finally focus a little more on my blog now that some of the stress from applying to colleges is gone. I’m already planning things for 2018 so be ready for a full year of regular blogging!

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

Uncategorized

WoW: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

new-wowWaiting on Wednesday book meme hosted by Breaking the Spine

Release Date: August 17th, 2017
Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

Synopsis: “Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.”

I cannot wait to finally read this novel. I remember hearing about this book on Twitter and realizing “wow, I can’t wait to read this!”. I didn’t know that this was realizing so soon. I figured it was going to realize later on within the year, but I am so happy that I was wrong.

Gifs of Excitement:
ron-swanson-is-excited

tumblr_nvcm9trjds1qazoq6o1_400

Xx Sincerely,
Anna

Uncategorized

#FemPowerAThon and #BorrowAThon TBR

Hey guys! So these two readathons started today and I’m hoping to participate in both!

FemPowerAThon

I’m looking for recs because I still have spaces to fill. Plus, I’m always up for switching a book I already have listed for another one if you guys tell me that I have to read a certain book now because of how amazing it is

woman in a position of power – Bad Girls Throughout History by Ann Shen possibly?
a woman of color – Waiting in the Wings by Tara Frejas or possibly another book because I have a ton of books that would fit here
a LGBTQIA+ woman – The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 2 by Kieron Gillen (?)
prominent sister relationship –
a woman with a mental illness – A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstorm
an own voices novel – Waiting in the Wings by Tara Frejas
read a book about a woman not set in the western world –
a graphic novel by a female – Bee and Puppycat by Natasha Allegri

BorrowAThon

I’d also love to get recs for this readathon! I haven’t gone to the library yet and I’m planning on going tomorrow to pick some up for this.

a book that you’d like to purchase –
a graphic novel – Bee and Puppycat by Natasha Allegri
an author you’ve never read – Deliah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff
a book that’s been recommended –
a book that’s cover is your favourite colour –
a book that features a library –

Are you guys participating in one of these readathons?

Xx Sincerely,

Anna

anna · TBR (To be read) · Uncategorized

Read-O-Rama Round 6 TBR

So I’m joining in slightly late for the Read-O-Rama readathon, but I am super excited! I have the week off for break so I will be reading the entire time.

A book with RAMA in the title/author name – American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Book with an animal on the cover – Giant Days Vol. 3 by John Allison

Main character that shares your initials – I honestly have no clue for this one. I can’t think of any book character with the initials AR so we shall see if this challenge gets done.

Book with Irish elements – Soulmated by Shaila Patel

Book about a mental or physical illness – A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom

Start a new series – Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

Read a book blind – Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Read 7 books – And then I’ll pick up another book or two to try to read seven books.

Are you guys participating in Read-O-Rama?

Xx Sincerely,

Anna